When you delete files or folders, or when you format a computer's drive, the files (the content of your files) actually remain on your computer's disk, and they are only "marked as deleted". So, even if you delete some files or documents, anyone can undelete them and read their content. If you format a drive, an "unformat" can often be performed and most of the files recovered.
The File Shredder tool prevents this by overwriting multiple times the items you wish to delete with random data, and then deleting them. This ensures that nobody can recover them.
Click the "Next" button in the File Shredder to proceed.
Click "Add file" and choose the file or folder you wish to permanently remove.
Confirm your desire of removing permanently that file/folder by typing "YES" in the empty box.
Ready! Your file/folder has been permanently erased.